Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Alnwick Bears RLFC app


Two Bears up for North East Rugby League Awards

By Jeff Ball

To be held at Kingston Park Stadium in September.

Two of Alnwick Bear’s volunteers have been shortlisted at the North East Rugby league Awards.

The annual end of season celebration for the region that is typically attended by 200 people recognises players & volunteers across 11 categories.

Alnwick’s Team Manager, Tracy Bowie is up for the Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year award, a category for those who support the development of the U10s and below age groups.

Tracy is constantly on hand to help with queries and welcome new players, providing the smiling face of the Bears between making sure we know where we need to be and when we need to be there!

Our other nominee is Coach, Rob Phillips, who is up for two awards, Volunteer of the Year and Spirit of the Community.

A key voice in Alnwick both before and since the creation of the club, Rob is at his happiest on the training paddock and made sure everyone enjoyed themselves at Magic Weekend where the Bears appeared as mascots.

Chairman, Steve Beaty was excited to see Tracy and Rob amongst the nominees: “This is fantastic for them and fantastic for the club.

Coming so early in our journey having launched at the start of the year, it just shows that there is something special developing at Alnwick Bears.

Rob and Tracy have been great and thoroughly deserve the recognition. I wish them the best of luck on the night.”

In total there are 11 clubs recognised, with Catterick Crusaders leading the way with 12 nominations and sister club, Cramlington Rockets having eight. The awards cover a range player, coach and volunteer categories.

Those shortlisted will be contacted shortly by the club to discuss tickets for attending.

Bears shortlisted & respective category
Tracy Bowie – Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Rob Phillips – Volunteer of the Year & Spirit of the Community

North East Rugby League Award Night Nominations in full

U12’s Player of the Year
Elijah Delaidriti – Catterick Crusaders
Osea Navuso – Catterick Crusaders
Lochlann Thomson – Cramlington Rockets
Louie Godfrey – Gateshead Storm
Riley Maitland – Gateshead Storm
Nathan Proctor – Whitley Bay Barbarians

U14’s Player of the Year
Ryan Crossley – Gateshead Storm
Ben Armstrong – Whitley Bay Barbarians
Jeremy Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Jordan Webster – Cramlington Rockets
Josh McDermott – Gateshead Storm
Finley Wilkinson – Cramlington Rockets

U16’s Player of the Year
Rupert Civil – Catterick Crusaders
Olly Bale – Catterick Crusaders
Aiden Simpson – Yarm Wolves
Henry Bowler – Yarm Wolves
Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm
Kieran Robins – Cramlington Rockets

Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year
Mark McCallan – Gateshead Storm
Gary Palmer – Yarm Wolves
Tracy Bowie – Alnwick Bears
Ian McKechnie – Catterick Crusaders
Aaron Mitchell – Cramlington Rockets

Spirit of the Community Award
Dave Bell – Jarrow Vikings
Michelle n Geoff Hurst – Gateshead Storm
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Rob Philips – Alnwick Bears
Alix Bowler – Yarm Wolves

Volunteer of the Year
Peter Lynn – Yarm Wolves
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm
Rob Phillips – Alnwick Bears
Sarah Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets
Jayne Whitby – Catterick Crusaders

Match Official of the Year
Rhett Johnson
Richard Robinson
Scott Stanley
Jamie Hooper
Jordan Robinson

Junior Coach of the Year
Phil Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets U12’s
Phil Shaw – Yarm Wolves U16’s
Nigel Froggatt - Gateshead Storm U14’s
Steve O’Reilly – Catterick Crusaders U16’s
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm U12’s

Men’s Coach of the Year
George Taylor – Jarrow Vikings
Jason Grant – Catterick Crusaders
Karl Stephenson – Durham Demons
Barry McGuffog – Edinburgh Eagles
Alan Stevenson – Wallsend Eagles
Jake Egglestone – Durham Tigers

Young Player of the Year
Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles
James Cook – Durham Demons
Ryan Hull – Cramlington Rockets
Jack Ingles – Gateshead Storm
Callum Piert – Catterick Crusaders
Lucas Reid – Edinburgh Eagles

Player of the Year
Jimmy Baldwin – Wallsend Eagles
Luke Elliot – Durham Demons
Lewis Clarke – Edinburgh Eagles
Daniel Bonham – Catterick Crusaders
Lewis Boyle – Durham Tigers
Ben Dalton – Jarrow Vikings

Updated 19:49 - 3 Aug 2018 by Jeff Ball

Where next?

Bear Cubs – Update Some changes to our Saturday sessions.


Loading comments